That’s a lot of lead changes

Sunday, April 17, 2011 – Jimmie Johnson passed Jeff Gordon for the 88th lead change, tying a series record, on the final lap of the Aaron’s 499 at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway. There had also been 88 lead changes the previous year at Talladega.

Johnson, Clint Bowyer, Gordon, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Kevin Harvick finished first through fifth. It was Johnson’s 54th career victory in NASCAR’s premier series.

There were five lead changes in the final five laps of the 188-lap race with Carl Edwards, Clint Bowyer, Edwards, Gordon and Johnson moving to the point.

Twenty-six of the 43 drivers in the starting lineup led at least one lap. Bowyer led the most at 38.

At 2.66 miles, Talladega is the longest track on the NASCAR Cup Series schedule.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *