Coca-Cola 600 notes

CONCORD, N.C. – In case you were wondering:

The race winner was the only driver on the lead lap at the end of three of the first five Coca-Cola 600 races (originally known as the World 600). Joe Lee Johnson, winner of the inaugural event in 1960, finished four laps ahead of runner-up Johnny Beauchamp. It’s happened eight times overall. The final time took place in 1987 when Kyle Petty had a one-lap advantage on runner-up Morgan Shepherd.

In 14 of the first 25 World 600s, the raced ended with only two cars on the lead lap. Not sure if that was the case in other races of the era but it sure happened a lot in the 600.

• David Reutimann scored the rain-shortened victory in 2009 that saw 26 cars finish on the lead lap. That remains the most for the annual Memorial holiday weekend race.

• Last year’s race, won by Kyle Busch, ended with nine cars on the lead lap.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *