Rexford’s lone win in championship season

May 30, 1950 – Bill Rexford won for the first and only time in a NASCAR premier series event when he captured the Poor Man’s 150 at Canfield (Ohio) Speedway. The victory came in Rexford’s eighth start in the series. He was piloting the No. 60 Oldsmobile of owner Julian Buesink.

Rexford would go on to win the championship in 1950 although he never won another NASCAR race. He was the first driver to win the title while winning only once during that season. Ned Jarrett (1961), Benny Parsons (’73) and Matt Kenseth (’03) also claimed championships during one-win seasons.

Lee Petty was stripped of 809 points earned during the first half of the season by NASCAR president William France, costing him a shot at the title. Petty had competed in non-NASCAR sanctioned events during a break in the summer schedule. NASCAR also penalized defending series champion Red Byron for a similar infraction.

The race’s name, the Poor Man’s 150, came about as it was run on the same day as the more popular, and more lucrative, Indianapolis 500.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *