Wade sets record with 4th win in row

Sunday, July 19, 1964 – Bill Wade established a NASCAR premier series record of four consecutive victories when he captured The Glen 151.8 at Watkins Glen International. Wade, driving the No. 1 Mercury for car owner Bud Moore, sported a six-second winning margin over LeeRoy Yarborough. The race consisted of 66 laps around the 2.3-mile road course.

Prior to the streak, Wade, a Houston, Texas native, had been winless on NASCAR’s top circuit.

The consecutive wins came at Old Bridge, Bridgehampton, Islip and Watkins Glen, a part of NASCAR’s “Northern Tour” at the time.

Wade began driving for Moore in ’64 after spending much of the ’63 season driving for another Spartanburg, S.C. owner, Cotton Owens.

Richard Petty fell out just 10 laps into the race when he hit a tire barrier; Petty later replaced David Pearson in the No. 6 Dodge fielded by Owens for the remainder of the race, giving Pearson credit for a sixth-place finish.

Wade was named NASCAR’s Rookie of the Year in 1963

According to reports, Wade had to overcome carburetor issues as well as a constant barrage of rocks bouncing off his car’s windshield to score the win at Watkins Glen. “Those stones sounded like the pop of a shotgun,” he told the Associated Press.

Wade finished fourth in points in ’64; the following January, he was killed when a tire on his entry blew while he was testing at Daytona international Speedway and his car struck the wall. He was 34.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *